Too Many Hats and Too Many Irons in the Fire…

Do you ever feel the notion to write when you are in the middle of a project that you cannot leave? Do thoughts of writing constantly bubble forth in your mind – the weaving and unraveling of a story or tale that you have a need to tell? These things happen to me all of the time. I often find myself in the middle of a task that must be done, while my mind is flooded with thoughts and ideas about blog posts I long to write. Stories about what I am living or experiencing from day-to-day itch to find their way to my keyboard. But sadly, I push on with the day’s work and the evening’s activities, and nary a word is written down.

Oh, I know what the underlying problem is. I am wearing too many hats and have too many irons in the fire. Of course I have no one to blame but myself, as this is the way I often set myself up each day. I have operated in this manner since I was a young girl, always taking pleasure from being busy and productive. I have always felt a great sense of pride in seeing all that I accomplish in a day. But I am not a young girl anymore, and it is quite apparent that I cannot keep up the physical work and constant juggling of so many tasks. Managing this comes down to deciding which hats to keep and which ones I must put away for a while.

After a 3cc of formula and potty time, Francesca curls up in a ball, ready for four hours of sleep.
After 3cc’s of formula and potty time, Francesca curls up in a ball, ready for four more hours of sleep.
Tucked in the corner of a shoebox, Buddy and Francesca burrow under a towel to find a nice warm spot. A heating pad provides warmth for half of the shoebox. The other half is unheated so that they can move into a cooler area should they wish to.
Tucked in the corner of a shoe box, Buddy and Francesca burrow under a towel to find a nice warm spot. A heating pad provides warmth for half of the shoe box. The other half is unheated so that they can move into a cooler area, should they wish to.

One hat I know I cannot put down anytime soon is my squirrel-mamma hat – you know, the furry one, with the fuzzy, long tail. And, since taking in 2-week-old squirrels, Buddy and Francesca, I have diligently worn that hat while keeping to their feeding schedule of every three to four hours. A typical feeding session actually amounts to about thirty minutes per squirrel, including the time it takes them to finish their formula, and for me to stimulate their “parts” with a cotton ball to encourage the “elimination” process. Basically, caring for these two babies takes up about five hours of my day! And, quite frankly, it has come to the point now where I feel like I have been running a squirrel day care center since last August, when we took in orphaned squirrels, Punkin and Mr. Gambini. Happily, those two are finally off on their own and have been doing quite well for themselves since late February, though they often stop by the back porch to beg a pecan or two. But the new squirrels, Buddy and Francesca, will have to remain under our care until late June or July.

This photo was taken three years ago. Zoe, Bear and Mr. T.
This photo was taken three years ago. Zoe, Bear and Mr. T.

And then there is the Chin-mamma hat that I wear, and caring for our indoor dogs is beginning to make more of a dent in my day as well. Mr. T, the ten-year-old youngster of the trio and also the largest in size, is socially inept. He is afraid of people… well, except for my mother-in-law who he seems to passionately dislike! Every day seems to be a new day for Mr. T. He regularly gets confused and sometimes mistakes even FD or I for an intruder or stranger. He submissive urinates on himself if someone approaches him too quickly. He is missing most of his teeth, so his food must be small enough for him to gob down with his gums. And he is afraid of tile flooring or any other surface that appears slick or has little or no traction. Often, I must carry him up and down steps as he flat refuses to attempt them on his own. He is insecure about anything new or out of place.  Yes, Mr. T requires a love and understanding that not many people would take time or have the patience to offer.

Next is Zoe, our smallest Japanese Chin, who is eleven years old. She is my little ranch hand, always by my side whenever I am working outdoors. Long ago, Zoe injured one of her eyes when, on a wild, ranch-style romp around the front yard, she ran headlong into a tree. Unfortunately, this was not an injury my vet felt he could help with, so now, besides applying ointment to her eye twice a day to keep the pressure down, I have to take Zoe to an animal ophthalmologist in Oklahoma City twice a year for checkups. If this was not enough, Zoe now requires arthritis medicine once a day for her old and aching joints. And yes, this means I also haul her up and down steps when we go outside, as she is often not able to manage them herself.

Which brings us to Bear, our middle-sized Chin who is also eleven years old. Bear was recently diagnosed with “Atlanto-Axial-Subluxation“, which is a painful condition of the neck vertebrae. The treatment for this is that Bear must be kept quiet and not allowed to be overly active – like jumping up on furniture or roughhousing with Mr. T and Zoe. Fortunately, it was not difficult for us to adjust Bear’s activities to this restriction, since we had already been limiting his activity for several years, due to suffering occasional seizures that seemed to be triggered by high-intensity activities like running or playing hard. Keeping him calm seemed to help, but the seizures have recently begun again, so I have resolved to putting him on phenobarbital – adding two more pills to my daily distribution of pharmaceuticals. So come one, come all! And welcome to our wildlife rehabilitation center (Buddy and Francesca) and canine nursing home (Bear and Zoe) and assisted living center (Mr. T)!

Hopefully this weekend I can get my annuals and a few herbs in the flower beds and planters around the house.
Hopefully this weekend I can get my annuals and a few herbs in the flower beds and planters around the house.

Of course the arrival of spring weather has awakened my desire to get out in the garden and my flower beds. I look longingly at my gardener’s hat with each day that comes and goes, but I have not been able to put more than a hand spade in a patch here and there to do a little weeding. All of my bedding plants sit in their little individual pots, awaiting the day I can get them in the ground. And, not surprising, with the warmer weather and spring rains, the lawn has already required mowing. That will soon be a weekly chore that I cannot let slide or I pay the price later!

After we took on the responsibility of raising Francesca and Buddy, I began to feel the weariness that comes with too many interruptions in my schedule. My outdoor work activity is continually cut short or is completely discarded because of the limitations the squirrel feeding process puts on my time. Added to this, lunch and dinner preparations also interfere with my outdoor work time, or the outdoor work activity cuts into my food preparation and cooking time. With each new day, I found myself constantly organizing everything around the squirrel-feeding schedule. Needless to say, it was not long before I became disillusioned and resentful.

So it should be no surprise that I was a little perturbed yesterday when it became apparent that I would have to make time to take Bear to the veterinarian once again. It had only been two weeks since I had taken him for his annual checkup, and I had inquired about his eyes being irritated at that time. The vet suggested Bear was likely just suffering from the effects of springtime allergies. That diagnosis made sense to me, since I myself had struggled with a sinus infection for a few weeks due to the dry conditions and high tree pollen count. But now it was obvious that Bear had developed an infection in his eyes that was not improving.

Once again taking the twenty-mile drive to the veterinary clinic and thinking about the giant expense the dog’s care had become so far this year, I was not very keen on paying for another office visit charge and still more medication. I knew these expenses were simply due to conditions that come with aging, the costs of various medications, annual exams and shots, and frequent blood work to make sure the medications were not having adverse effects, but they sure were beginning to add up!  Still, when Doc told me Bear’s tear ducts had completely quit producing tears, and he had been suffering dry eye discomfort and pain for at least two weeks, I felt like I had completely failed as his caretaker. I could not imagine having dry eyes for that long. It was no wonder he had not been able to open his eyes the last few days. So, for his treatment, Bear and I went home with a $60, tiny tube of ointment the equivalent of human Restasis. This will have to be applied to Bear’s eyes two times a day, every day, for the rest of his life.

This is not the sharpest photo, but Bear does not like the camera to begin with. He has an infection and very dry eyes. After the first dose of Optimmune (human equivalent of Restasis) he was able to open his eyes slightly. Poor fella.
This is not the sharpest photo, but Bear does not like the camera to begin with. He has an infection and very dry eyes. After the first dose of Optimmune (human equivalent of Restasis) he was able to open his eyes slightly. Poor fella.

On the drive home from the veterinary office, I happened to notice a hawk sitting on a nest in a tree near the highway. Each year in the spring, before the tree leaves obscure the nest from sight, I marvel at the pair of hawks that raise their young in this same nest so close to this busy highway. “If only I would remember to bring my camera on these trips!”, I thought, and soon found myself composing a blog post in my mind… “Hawks of the Highway”. But something more important began to speak to me about the patience and diligence of the female hawk. I could not imagine the hours and days that female sits quietly on her nest, caring for her eggs and protecting them with great diligence. I realized her job as caretaker will not be finished until her young are finally ready to flee the nest. And even then, she must still teach them the hunting skills they will need to survive on their own. Only after she has finished the parenting of her young, will she be able to resume her life as an ordinary hawk.

Punkin often comes to the back door to see if we will bring her a pecan. She has her head right by the door handle so she can get her paws on that pecan PRONTO!
Punkin often comes to the back door to see if we will bring her a pecan. She has her head right by the door handle so she can get her paws on that pecan PRONTO!

I thought about my own role as caretaker, and how the next few years might change up my pace a bit. I might not get to the gardening like I have in the past. My crops may be planted late and they may not produce as well, but maybe it will all work out just fine anyway. I may have to juggle my schedule at times, depending on what wild orphan I might be raising. The meals I prepare for FD and myself might not be elaborate or particularly interesting, but we will get by. And I know someday, when I no longer have aging dogs to care for, I will be glad that I gave them good lives, delivered with caring hands and a loving heart. And that will be a hat I will always be proud to have put on my head, and I will be thankful for the experience it brought.

And finally, there is my writer’s hat. This is a hat I really never take off, but only reluctantly cover with my caretaker and gardening hats. My thoughts about blog posts and book ideas will keep reminding me that, as a writer, I have something important to share, even though I may not be prompt or regular with blog posts. Yes, my writer’s hat is one I could never part with… even when I have too many irons in the fire.

© 2015 Day by Day the Farm Girl Way…


42 thoughts on “Too Many Hats and Too Many Irons in the Fire…

  1. Seems you run a hats’ superstore! Very well written and presented as usual. Your writer’s hat is the most precious. Look forward to it all the time 😆😆😆

    Like

  2. I understand exactly what you mean. I also get great ideas for writing when I’m doing other things, usually driving or taking a shower. I thought I was brilliant when I put notepads in the bathroom and the car, so I could record those ideas. But now I just have an overwhelming supply of scribbled notes that I stuff in a big file and seldom read through. It sort of backfired on me, adding to my frustration instead of reducing it. But I still love that adrenaline rush at the moment I get those “great” ideas, don’t you?

    Poor little Bear. And you. I know what it’s like to hurt when you realize your pet was in pain and you didn’t know it. I still sometimes beat myself up wondering if there was anything I could have done better or sooner for my kitty Mickey. In reality I know I went above and beyond what most people would have done, just like you are doing for your beloved dogs. I’m sure Bear is feeling much better now, and he knows how much you love him (and Zoe and Mr. T. too). Flowers can wait. 🙂

    Like

    1. Kim you are SO right! Those flowers and the vegetable garden can wait. In fact, when I used to work tax season for an accounting firm, I never got the garden going or weeding done until after April 15th, and I never suffered any plight as a result. Today FD did the mowing and that helped so much! I was able to weed the flower beds and transplant some plants that needed moving. Tomorrow I’ll tackle the flower pots, and next week I’ll garden as I can find time. Zoe will be happy to be outdoors with me some. It’ll all work out. I just tend to get overwhelmed when there is too much on my plate.

      Bear’s eyes still look like raw meat. The vet said it would be a while for his eyes to clear up and the infection is just a mild one so hopefully he will feel some comfort in the next week. If not we’ll go back to the vet. I’m determined to help him see again, poor fella.

      Like

  3. Lori, let’s see, if I change out your dogs for Tucker and his medical issues, and the hawks for Polly sitting on a full nest, well, I think you wrote my next post for me! Seriously, our lives with farms and pets are uncannily alike right now. However, I was just kidding about the plagiarism. 😉

    Like

    1. Ha ha! Oh, my you have a lot on your plate too! I KNEW you’d understand! I thought of Tucker while doctoring Bear. It is hard to watch them go through tough times. Poor Bear’s eyes look like raw meat right now. It really bothers me he’s having pain and discomfort. 😦

      Like

      1. I think that is the hardest part. Knowing their pain and feeling helpless to do anything permanent to change it. We do our best to keep them comfortable. It is all we can do.

        Like

  4. I think you need an award for everything that you do Lori! Are chin’s naturally prone to a lot of problems? It seems your dogs have a whole lot more than the average bear (sorry about the pun, couldn’t help myself 😉 ). I was thinking the very self-same thing yesterday about how long and how patient the Grey Shrike Thrushes are here with raising their babies. It takes them 2 years to raise one to adulthood and all of that time they are caring for it, feeding it etc. I think the moments of our lives where we are caring for something are the moments of our lives when we develop character and learn the most important life lessons. You are SO right about how life changes and adapts to what is put in your life when you have to care for it but as you so rightly put, “you” are gaining from the effort and energy that you put into that care and people can either grumble and resent or they can rise above and be blessed. I am glad you are allowing yourself to be blessed by your burdons Lori. BIG hugs to you and pats to all of the little chins 🙂 (and FD 😉 )

    Like

    1. Oh thank you SO much Fran! I’ll take those hugs. Yes, the Chin seem to have a lot of heart, eye, patella, and teeth issues. We have been lucky though, as these three have been healthy for the most part. And FD is good to help with feedings on the weekends which gives me a bit of a break. He did the mowing today too, and I was able to weed all of my flower beds. Tomorrow I’m determined to get my flowers potted in pots and then this coming week I’ll get after the garden. FD helping with the mowing was a BIG deal to me. I was starting to feel like I was at the end of my rope – losing my grip. Isn’t it wonderful when we get that little boost that gives us gumption to keep going? That’s why your BIG hugs mean so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sometimes life feels like it is a bit out of control. Even a metaphorical hug, knowing that people get what you are doing and why, can give you a boost and FD mowing the lawn is about as good as it gets :). I have 3 trailer loads of logs to unload today with Steve (already split but need to be moved under the deck), an impossible shawl that is made of wool that approximates spiders webs to make for my sister for the 20th of this month (her 50th), Sanctuary is at the mercy of the white fly and I am starting to feel a bit in despair about the direction of the “garden” here on Serendipity Farm. Thinking that it might be time to get a bit brutal with the front and take it back to something that we can work with rather than pussy footing around pruning etc. Might be time for the whipper snipper with the big blade and a chainsaw or two. We have our new host for “The Road to Serendipity” up and running, just have to find the time to relocate the blog to a new website now and share it with anyone who still cares. Life is indeed hectic. I think that 2015 might just be a transitioning year for a lot of us. That BIG hug comes from someone who is feeling your upheaval and transition as well as the feeling that you are tied up and stretched out to the max. I think the important thing is to keep plodding along and enjoying as much as you can of every situation that you find yourself in. Here’s to finding the beauty and joy in small and difficult things 🙂

        Like

        1. Darn it! Too bad flying to your neck of the woods is so lengthy and expensive. I would love to unload and stack wood!! And operating that “whipper snipper” which I assume is the same as our “weed eater” out here, is a specialty of mine! Of course in reality, I’m strapped here with responsibility – and you’re right, there is beauty and joy in it.

          Are you kidding? We’re all going to be linking up with the new website! You’ll just have to tell us how to get there. Missing a post from you would just be too gloomy to think about!! Rock on girlfriend!! I love you!! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Love you right back Ms Lori :). We just bought the domain name “The Road to Serendipity” and will be self-hosting the blog on WordPress.org ASAP so hopefully then, I will get back and posting more regularly. It’s almost winter and that means more time to spend inside :). Give those gorgeous little squirrel babies a gentle stroke for Stevie-boy and I 🙂

            Like

  5. All in all I could quite easily DUMP the dinner and lunch prep.. We need a cook – you and I! A chief cook and bottle washer as my Dad used to say. i find myself actively resenting having to stop farming to cook a meal when i would be happy with a bowl of yoghurt with my home made muesli and honey as i walk back to the barn.. I was thinking of you today as i shed my jacket while digging into the ground to release a piece of wire netting that had become inbedded over the winter and was a danger to cows udders.. Happy as a lark i was! Rock on baby girl.. you have it! c

    Like

    1. I grew up with the “chief cook and bottle washer” saying too! I wish we had one… wow, would that ever make me happy. I too manage fine having whatever meal I can patch together and I eat when I’m hungry and not by a schedule when I’m alone. So much of what I do right now depends on FD’s schedule. I make the meals, iron his dress clothes, and do most of the yard work and critter care. Much of the time I don’t mind, but my least favorite activity is food prep and cooking. Come summer and autumn harvest I’m busy in the kitchen again, putting up vegetables for winter use. Darn the kitchen! I think you’re right – that kitchen is the crux of the problem!

      What is it about wire and fencing that gets buried? I find it in the woodlands, and our neighbor has a lot of fencing and old gates buried partially in the ground. I always worry about Daisy and her babies each year, getting hung up in that trash. We have removed much of it here, but it still tends to surface just when we think we’ve got it all. Dangerous stuff indeed!

      Like

        1. Ah yes, broken glass… and very odd things. I should photograph some of the things that emerge in the woodlands. I would love to know the stories of how these items came to be in the woodlands. Our house sits where FD’s great uncle’s had a poultry farm. One of the three poultry houses sat where our house sits. Big red clay brick from the foundation emerges, but other bits of metal and wire sometimes show up.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Old farms have the most wonderful treasure hidden beneath them. My geese are always finding the most unusual items for me. I would love to see your oddments, Lori!

            Like

  6. Great post as usual. I feel for you since I’ve been there, worked a steady job and hand raised my first 2 rejected kittens and then two years laters 4 more kittens that were orphaned. The first set of two kittens will be 16 years old in May. The other 4 kittens will be 14 years old in August.

    There is always some cat or dog that needs medication. Sub q fluids are needed for some cat in renal failure just about all the time. Currently I have 3 cats on daily meds. One old dog has had dry eye and has required cyclosporine (generic of restasis) for the past 3-4 years. My daughter or my regular vet calls in the RX to a compounding pharmacy and it’s much cheaper than getting the med from the vet. One bottle lasts 5-6 months.

    You will continue to manage just fine because you have that inner desire to do what is right for the people you love and the animals in your care. At some point you will know that some aspects of housework can be left undone.

    In that batch of plants I saw rosemary and some annuals but no rue, dill or fennel or blue mist flower and no red salvia. Did you find a source for passion vine?

    Like

    1. Yvonne, you offer wonderful encouragement. Thank you for the tip on getting the RX from a compounding pharmacy. Is the cyclosporine in drop or ointment form? I have an easier time with ointments. The chin are a stubborn breed about everything. They often flat refuse to cooperate with everything. They are not easily trained to do tricks and they have little attitudes. Zoe is most agreeable for me but she snaps at strangers. Mr. T is the worst… he’s scared AND has attitude. Bear has made it a real challenge to work on his eyes. I need to have octopus arms to get to his eyes to treat them!

      My dill comes up from seed and I have red salvia in several areas of the property. I never have good luck with fennel – our soil is horribly poor in most areas, and pair that with the intense heat on our sandy soil, some plants just don’t survive it. And I have not been able to research getting blue mist flower and passion vine. I do know a lady across town that has passion vine, so she may be able to help me. I just haven’t managed time to look into getting set up for butterflies and hummingbirds.

      Yvonne, your nurturing and loving nature comes out in your blog posts, and your comments. I so wish you were my neighbor. There is much wisdom and caring in everything you say. That truly appeals to me… thank you. 🙂

      Like

      1. The cyclosporine that I use is in drop form> sorry to be so late to answer your question I find that the drops easier to use than the ointment. Less effort to get the drops into the eye because my little dog Wally does not have time to squeeze his eye shut. he only has one eye and he is blind. The other one had to be enucleated after he apparently getting poke with something that resulted in a terrible infection.

        There is a pharmacy in New Jersey that is

        Like

        1. Well of all things I hit a key and it flew away and posted. It is Wedgewood Pharmacy in New Jersey and if you like I can send you the address. My daughter uses that one for the eye meds. I can email you the address. I think the phone number is on the bottle.

          Like

          1. I am glad to know I am not the only one that suddenly suffers from missing comments or sentences! I lost a whole blog post the other day… but fortunately hit the “back” arrow a couple of times and retrieved it. Anyway, my problem is that my vet has always been good to me. We’ve had dogs in the past that needed emergency treatment on weekends or after hours and this guy is so dedicated. I once sought medication elsewhere and I think he was very put off by that. I think first I will ask around for pricing and approach him about what I can get elsewhere at a better price. I want to give him my business and I do appreciate him, but goodness, I think these meds are outrageous! Yes, please email me the address so I might have a price comparable at the very least. Thank you so much for your help! 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  7. I have all my ‘brilliant’ writing ideas on my mornings walks…and then I return to reality once I am home again, and the writing waits. I have started to make some choices, though, to give priority to the things that nurture my spirit. Now that our weather has cooled, I will be putting some of it into action, or maybe I will just be covering one hat with another!! We are with you in spirit, Lori! Hang in there!

    Like

    1. Oh thanks, Ardys! I think it’s a common problem that we put our inner-spirit desire on hold for matters at hand. I find it interesting that you are approaching cooler weather and ours is just heating up!! Ha ha! I will bask in your “cool” writings… I think it’s lovely to experience someone else’s world through writing. 🙂

      Like

  8. To be busy with life is rich reward for finding people, animals and projects that make us happy, fulfilled, stressed, alive and involved. Freud said all we really need is love and work; I agree. My sister is always saying she never has time to do this and that. I tell her prioritize! What’s important to you, what is #1,2,3? I don’t always follow this suggestion, but it makes sense! I am so happy to share that I have just accomplished some major goals after some major, unexpected life changes visited my world. A 17 year relationship went away, I moved 1000 miles back to where I had lived for many years, and now 9 months later I have started a full time position and can move into my own place, after sharing home with an old college roommate from 30 years ago! Getting full time, professional work was essential to re-build a life and that is my focus. It will make all the difference in what lies ahead. Lori, you will make the time for the things that make you stronger, purposeful and happy. Let’s Enjoy as much of it as possible! Judith, The Lioness

    Like

    1. Judy, I had no idea you had so much going on in the past year or so! Goodness, what courage you have!Those were all big changes! It is often difficult to dive into the waters of change, but the swim across the lake is often what we need to propel us to new experiences of growth. I love your words, “you will make the time for the things that make you stronger, purposeful and happy”. I’m holding onto that!! Thank you so much for your encouraging kind words and for sharing about your recent life changes. 🙂

      Like

  9. I know what you mean about getting satisfaction from looking back on all you have achieved for the day. I am hopeless at relaxing, I feel I have wasted my day if I have just gone walking or read or watched a film. But, lately (thanks to a person I am seeing) I am getting better at relaxing, and taking time out from been busy, and I have to say, I am feeling much better for it. I don’t feel as stressed and wound up, my busy mind has quietened and I feel more able to take note of the world around me, and I don’t get angry and short-tempered any more. And ironically, I seem to get more done with the days that I am productive. But no matter how busy or relaxed I am – writing is also a hat I never want to take off 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rachel, we sound very much alike. I think I will always be a busy and driven person because it does feel good to be active and productive. But it has taken many years, some physical injury, and fatigue to learn I need to slow down and also take time to enjoy relaxing. The year I was busy raising Daisy deer, and I sat with her (as a doe would do with her fawn), I often read, napped, and observed nature. That was the year I decided that sometimes life’s little interruptions (caring for wildlife and my older dogs) are the times we flourish and realize there is always joy in the simple moments. I’m so glad you are making those realizations so young! I’m proud of you! 🙂

      Like

  10. I forgot to mention in my first comment on this very special post (many agree) that I hoped you were not about to tell us that your writers hat would be put aside under the circumstances…but no, that did not happen. Of all the blogs I follow, Monday morning I read your first….
    I also didn’t tell you that the new baby squirrels are absolutely adorable and so lucky to be in your care. Your dog story speaks to me as I my 15 year old cat Sushi reminds me to give him his insulin 2x per day, if I am late. It makes him feel better! Now his kidneys aren’t working as they once did, but special food seems to be helping. Caring for him is something I do because I love him. I hope you are having a good week!

    Like

    1. Thank you Judy, and yes I am having a great week!! With FD’s help and a little prioritizing I have managed to get the weeding done and most of my vegetable garden in. It feels good to get those things knocked out. I will have to post more photos of the squirrels. Their eyes are beginning to open today!! 🙂

      Like

  11. Oh Lori, I can’t believe I missed this post. I no longer have any little ones to care for, just a couple of big grown up kids at home and an ancient dog that still thinks she is a puppy. You are a marvel to be able to care for your animals, let alone do anything else at home like gardening! This brings back memories though of when I lived on a farm and there always seemed to be baby animals to care for as well as housework, teaching the children and caretaking the farm. It was quite stressful and of course I was often thinking about all the things I was wanting to write, especially “that novel” I’ve been planning since I was a teenager! Orphaned lambs, chicks etc Injured stock animals. Your squirrel babies and canine children must keep you so busy just by themselves. I am in awe of how you manage all your responsibilities! You are not just a squirrel mother as you say, you are an everything mother! I remember mourning my magnificent vegetable garden after I stopped having the time to attend it due to mothering responsibilities. But something has to take a backseat. Precious creatures and humans need attending to first. And how do you find the time to write so magnificently? Big hugs and much admiration from me. My blog will take a back seat soon as I once again attempt to write that dream book! Thanks for sharing your amazing life with us! xx

    Like

    1. Thank you Jane, for those words of encouragement! My book will come forth when it’s time. I’m just so impatient about everything. Daisy taught me a lot about patience and waiting. She taught me to observe quietly – and of course with that the little miracles of life just happened along. That is how it is best with most endeavors. Lately, I have been trying to discover where Ms. Foxy has her kits hidden. The more I follow her, the more of a goose chase she leads me on. I get nothing. But if I sit, and wait patiently, and observe her comings and goings, I soon discover just what area she keeps scampering off to. There will come a day I will discover her den, and perhaps win some photos of the little ones. This is the first I have heard about your dream book!! And to have this idea since your teenage years…well, it’s high time you get down to the business of writing! I hope you tell me more about the book! How exciting!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.