Five Minutes Of Pink

I had just finished preparing dinner this evening, when FD announced that Punkin the squirrel had arrived for her evening snack of cracked pecans. Quickly, I washed my hands at the kitchen sink and, as I peered out the window, was surprised and delighted to see the landscape outside bathed in gorgeous pink hues. Even our white propane tank looked pink! Not wanting to miss seeing Punkin or this glorious pinkness, I grabbed my camera and headed out to capture the last moments of sunset.

There was just a tinge of yellow in the first photograph I took.
There was just a tinge of yellow in the first photograph I took.
Just a minute later the western sky was bathed in a lovely shade of pink!
Just a minute later the western sky was bathed in a lovely shade of pink!
The water in the wildlife watering tub emitted a spectacular reflection.
The water in the wildlife watering tub emitted a spectacular reflection.

Just an hour before, I remembered seeing a strange line of clouds move in from the northwest. The day had been clear, bright and sunny but, when the clouds moved in, everything became a foreboding blue, and appeared as if rain might be on the way. So I did a little research, and discovered that, indeed, the clouds had everything to do with the pink sunset! Clouds help scatter and reflect light, which can influence everything outside to have a red, orange, or more rarely, beautiful pink hue.

A tree top near the house (Mr. Gambini's favorite tree!) makes a stark contrast against an almost lavender sky.
A tree top near the house (Mr. Gambini’s favorite tree!) makes a stark contrast against an almost lavender sky.
Directly to the south, a bit of blue peeks through the pink sky.
Directly to the south, a bit of blue peeks through the pink sky.
Off to the northwest the sky still holds a bit of buttercream yellow in the horizon.
Off to the northwest the sky still holds a bit of buttercream yellow in the horizon.

Unfortunately, photos of Punkin enjoying her evening pecans in the pink light did not turn out. There just wasn’t enough light on the porch to capture her in the fading pink sunset. Instead, I was content to photograph the pink hue in the distance. Even then, since we are surrounded by the woodlands, most of what I managed were tree-top shots. But oh my, the magnificence of pink for that few minutes before the sun slipped away, made for an absolutely breathtaking end to my day – and I wondered, as Miss Punkin slipped into her squirrel house, if it had done the same for her…

Punkin loves her evening snack of pecans!
Punkin loves her evening snack of pecans!

© 2015 Day by Day the Farm Girl Way…


53 thoughts on “Five Minutes Of Pink

    1. Thank you, Cherity! Mr. Gambini and Punkin have been enjoying the warm days we’ve had lately. They venture into the woods all day long, but they still come home each evening to have a pecan snack!

      Like

    1. Oh yes, clouds can be tremendous, especially with the spring storms. I really need to hop in the truck and head out west of town when we get storms. I’m in the trees here and rarely get good cloud shots.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The pictures are so beautiful, I am not going to read this (though I know it will be a very fine narrative as usual). The sunrise and the sunset are the the best ‘models’ and one can manipulate so much, especially if there are clouds as well. Brilliant!

    Like

  2. Red sky at night, sailor’s delight, red sky at morning, sailor take warning. Was really different sis, I have to say that. Kind of golden up here, but still, noteworthy.

    Don

    Like

    1. I think we tend to take sunrise and sunset for granted. I wish I could paint… but then, likely I’d never do the spectacular colors justice. It’s indescribable at times.

      Like

  3. Lori these are glorious photos.No two sunsets just like snowflakes are ever alike. But this I know that you already know. 🙂 You are correct about the sky color as an indicator of weather change. If I see the sky in brilliant and vibrant colors I know that rain or a norther is on the way. Never fails.

    The pic of little punkin is too cute. That tail is gorgeous.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Yvonne. I saw a wild squirrel on the back porch yesterday and about 2 inches of his tail was dangling down, limp. I often find parts of squirrel tails on the pasture or near the feeding area. I always wonder if it’s disease or a fight, bitter winter conditions (frostbite), or perhaps a fall that cause tail loss. Punkin has a gorgeous tail. Mr. Gambini’s is not as full.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This post is perfect for this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge theme of “Serenity” — isn’t it always amazing to sit and just take in the transformation of the sky and landscape as the color and glow of sunset change minute by minute?!

    Like

    1. Yes Kat… it’s amazing how fast the transformation from beauty to darkness takes place at sunset. I often find myself in a panic to get great shots for those few minutes of spectacular colors. Yesterday though, I was limited to the tree view so I enjoyed just taking in the pink!

      Like

  5. We get plenty of orange, gold and red — sometimes, even a little lemon yellow — but pink skies are rare, except for the Belt of Venus at sunrise and sunset. These are gorgeous photos. Maybe some day I’ll get to see such a thing in real life.

    Like

    1. You are correct, pink is rare. I was reading about how the different colors formulate, and each article I researched mentioned the “rarity” of pink. We mostly see variations of reds and oranges, and sometimes yellow. I was so amazed at how everything of the landscape was bathed in pink! Our white propane tank looked kind of funny – that’s how I first noticed the pink sky, as I looked out the kitchen window. It was just spectacular.

      Like

    1. Thanks Sandy! It was all of five minutes and the whole display was not nearly as spectacular! I wish I’d had a good landscape to photograph, but being IN the trees, my shots were so limited. But, I’ll give it a whirl! You never know what they’ll pick! 🙂

      Like

    1. I’ve read where pink is rare to see in the sky, but I am sure it happens much more often than we tend to notice it! I hope you get to see one – it’s so unusual to see the pink glow on everything! 🙂

      Like

  6. Those are absolutely beautiful photos, Big Sister! I especially love the ones with pink AND yellow in them (1st and 6th photos); my two favorite colors!! The one of Punkin is really cool, I love the tail!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jules! That yellow is a buttercream… just lovely! Oh, there is so much to love about Punkin. I love that she lets us pet her. She does have a rather fabulous tail, doesn’t she? 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.