Where Have All The Petunias Gone?

“Love is the flower of life, and blossoms unexpectedly and without law, and must be plucked where it is found, and enjoyed for the brief hour of its duration.” D.H. Lawrence

Spirit investigates the petunia's.
Spirit investigates the petunias.
Hmm, these fancy flowers smell pretty darned good!
Hmm, these fancy flowers smell pretty darned good!
I swear, Gramma, I was only looking!
I swear, Gramma, I was only looking!
No one will know if I try just one of these!
Surely. no one will know if I try just one of these!
Oh, this is SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Oh my, this is SCRUMPTIOUS!! I don’t care if I do get caught!

© Day by Day the Farm Girl Way…

 

 

 

 


46 thoughts on “Where Have All The Petunias Gone?

    1. Thank you, Yvonne. Daisy never ate petunias so I didn’t know they were deer-friendly! I have some other plants that are supposed to be deer resistant but I’ve found deer find them irresistible instead! I think deer are like people… their tastes vary!

      Like

      1. So sorry I wrote Daisy’s doe/s and it was supposed to be fawn/s. As I was writing doe I thought “that just does not look right.” I have no idea what in the world I was thinking and then when I looked at my comment hours later I could see my error. ~yvponne~

        Like

  1. She’s absolutely beautiful and adorable (even if she is eating the petunias! 😉 )!! Did you ever find her twin, or find out what happened to him? I was very sad to read that he hadn’t been seen for a while in earlier posts…

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind comment Dounia. We never found Rowdy or any evidence of what might have happened with him. I suspect a predator got him, and likely, by the looks of Daisy the day he disappeared, we fear it was a bobcat. In the fall and winter when I am hiking to the river more often (after snakes are gone and weeds are not so lush in the woods) I may find bones, or some kind of evidence. By then, tracking down what actually happened may be next to impossible. Spirit is so much like Daisy was when she was little. They spend a lot of nights up top here by our house, and not in the canyon. They are such a delight to have around. I don’t care if they eat all of my flowers!

      Like

      1. I’m really so sorry to hear about Rowdy…I’m happy that at least Daisy and Spirit are both alright and stay nearby! That must be so wonderful, and such a joy and comfort 🙂 I very much look forward to future posts with updates and photos!

        Like

        1. Thank you. I have been busy harvesting from the garden, keeping up with watering since the heat finally hit Oklahoma, and lots of mowing. I should soon be able to get back to more blogging when the fall temperatures arrive. I still manage hundreds of photos of Daisy and Spirit each week… just need to find the time to write about them.

          Like

  2. This is the most adorable post, Lori! Ya know, I was thirtysomething when I discovered that petunias had a lovely scent. Now I want to plant more of them but they won’t grow here. Well, at least not for me! Oh well, I will just enjoy yours being eaten and try to remember their fragrance!

    Like

    1. Lynda, funny you should mention the fragrance of petunias! My Grandma Scott always had a huge area of petunias on the old farm. When we came to visit, Grandma had several child-sized sprinkling cans that she filled with water from the hose, and then we had to “help” her water petunias because there were just so many of them and thank goodness we came to help!! LOL Grandma Scott was hilarious and always took time for us kids. I will always remember her when I smell the scent of petunias. I have raised them most of my life for this very reason!

      They do like sun, and can tolerate heat. And, they grow well from seed! Mine reseed themselves every year, but usually I have to purchase a few for vibrant color (they tend to reseed to white or violet). They are also great to pot, or to grow along any trellis or fence. I’d keep trying if I were you… or maybe you’ll have better luck at the mountain farmlet!

      Like

      1. I have noticed that white and violet petunias spring up here as well. They are probably deposited here from my neighbor Elsie’s garden! They are few, but I always give them space to grow. I also notice that they are trailing in nature rather than compact like to ones we get from the nursery. The wild ones grow without my help. (Which is probably why they grow at all! ; ) )

        Like

    1. I have found Daisy isn’t too fond of lantana, lillies, gallardia, and wild hibicus. She really loves roses though, but generally she doesn’t strip a plant down (since I have several around the property). It’s wonderful you don’t mind the deer eating everything. I see in many suburbs of larger cities, people claim they’d rather get rid of the deer. Unless the area is over-populated with deer, it shouldn’t be a real problem. I’d choose to have deer around here any day!

      Like

      1. She’s such a darling. I happened to read just the other day that native lantanas are one thing that are recommended as deer-resistant. Not camillias, though. There’s a fancy neighborhood in San Antonio that had a collective heart attack last year when all of their camillia bushes got stripped by deer. Those deer were about as casual about it as Spirit is here, from what I’m told!

        Like

        1. It is true that lantana is not bothered by deer. We have a lot of it here and Daisy keeps away from it. And deer do most of their damage here at night. My blackberries take a bit hit in the winter months. We have a few trees that are nibbled constantly, that I doubt will ever amount to anything; dogwood and any fruit trees!

          Like

      2. I’ve found that if there is a lot of natural food around that deer like, they usually do not bother your decorative plants – assuming you live in a rural area. In the burbs, they will eat what you grow!

        Like

  3. A funny coincidence – I had some brush goats years ago. One was named Petunia and another named Daisy. Both were nice, sweet-smelling girl goats. Maynard, a male, did not smell so good. It is still hard to imagine why urine in the beard is a goat aphrodisiac – YUCK!!!!!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Louis! Yes, I learned that with deer, urine plays a big part in the big scheme of life! Our front yard is marked by all kinds of urine… one species marking over another. Cats, foxes, deer, my dogs… everyone seems to want to be the last to “own” the spot! And of course… I have all of these lush, green round patches all about the yard!

      Like

    1. Spirit is a silly girl, just like Daisy was at that age. FD has gotten to where she will watch him toss her a cherry tomato and she’ll go after it. He hopes one day she’ll learn to trust him enough to eat from his hand! Always though, the big eyes watch us! She’s a sweetie!

      Like

Comments are closed.