Saving Sonic

For those of you who do not reside in the United States, Sonic Corporation is the nation’s largest chain of drive-in restaurants. We have a Sonic restaurant located in our city, and FD and I have been known to grab a quick meal there once in a while when busy with an outdoor project and too tired to think about cooking a meal or even slapping a sandwich together. Years ago, before we cleaned up our diet, Sonic was one of our favorite hangouts. Nowadays, we rarely eat out, but have, instead, adopted a healthier lifestyle. We try to make better choices with the foods we eat. One look at the nutritional information on Sonic’s menu explained why FD and I were usually miserable after eating one of those quick meals. To be fair though, the food is tasty and the menu is unique when compared to other fast food joints.

However, this story is not about Sonic Drive-In or saving the Sonic corporation. A quick look at the Sonic website, indicates the business is doing quite well. No, this story is about a kitten. A kitten that threw the proverbial “monkey wrench” into my Memorial Day weekend this year. And the kitten “experience” just happened to occur on the highway, right in front of the Sonic Drive-In.

Sissy Jo, FD’s sister from Dallas, came to visit for the holiday weekend, and brought her two youngest grandkids, a 4 year-old and a 2 year-old, along with her. Despite shopping the day before, I realized we would still need to run to the local department store for a few pool supplies for the kids and some more food items. Sissy and I piled the kids in her Jeep and away we went, traveling less than a mile, to the local Walmart. We were just going over the list of goods we needed to purchase, when I noticed something small and fuzzy in the middle of the highway! Whoosh!! We drove past it before I could say anything to Sissy! Traffic was fairly busy, and as I looked behind us, my heart sank. Was it a kitten that I saw?

A car was approaching not far behind us and in horror I saw the fuzzy thing move right into its path! Exclaiming to Sissy that there was a little animal in the road, I turned around in my seat and spotted the critter at the curbing. I yelled for Sissy to turn the Jeep around. I am not sure how she managed in the middle of traffic, but she wheeled around, stopped to let me out when there was a break in traffic, and took off again to maneuver the Jeep around to pick me up. I kept to the middle of the road until it was safe to cross. The kitten I was after, was on its back, pawing in the air. Strangely, it appeared to be playing. After reaching him, I gently picked him up, more for my own protection, just in case he clawed me. The poor thing was limp as a rag, shutting his eyes tight as if preparing to brave the next trauma. I never noticed how Sissy managed to get turned around and pull up next to me, but I have to say, her driving skills were quite efficient that day! I jumped in the Jeep, along with my new responsibility. While I was glad we saved the kitten, I was not happy to have to deal with this type of rescue situation.

After pulling into the Walmart parking lot, Sissy and I examined the kitten. For the most part, the kitten looked fine. It was scared and trembling, and appeared to have a little limp in the hind legs. When the kitten tried to walk, the back legs would not cooperate. So, we cracked the windows and put the kitten in a little box Sissy kept in the back of the Jeep.

Inside Walmart, Sissy and I took off in different directions, hoping to tackle our shopping list in a short time. In my haste, I completely forgot that I did not have cat food on hand. Being a holiday weekend, the local animal control would not pick up the kitten until Monday. This meant I would be stuck taking care of an injured kitten for three days. Great.

I was in a huge snit about this when we got home. What was wrong with people who dump animals – and a kitten of all things? This tiny, ball of fuzz did not look old enough to be weened from its mother. And, on another less-important note, I am not a cat person. I am a dog lover. Why could this have not been a puppy? Cats are generally aloof and they spit and claw. Oh sure, I have known a few cats in my life that had good personalities and that actually liked me but, most of the time, cats were just too standoffish and weird for me. I will not even speak of the few that seemed to enjoy tormenting me! Friends who owned these cats tried to convince me that their sweet cat really loved me. Sure. Uh huh.

While Sissy ran back to the store for kitten chow and a few other kitty items she thought we would need, I retrieved a small pet porter from the storage building and cleaned it up. Handling the small ball of fuzz in order to bed it down after all this, softened my attitude a little. I felt sorry for it. I wondered what had happened to it. Did it just break away from its mother too soon, or had someone dumped it off?

Sonic licking his paws after eating a fine meal!
Sonic licking his paws after eating a fine meal!

For three days, we cared for the little fella, and he soon became very mobile. Perhaps the shock of the highway experience had rendered his back legs useless for a little while. But now, he was getting around fine, and he had a voice. Still, most of the time he stayed in the back of the pet porter, resting. I tried to convince Sissy to take the little fella home with her, but she already had two cats and four dogs. I could not blame her for saying “no”. Finally, I wrote an email to my friend, Ruthie, that night, telling her about the adventure we went through to save the little kitten. I was aware Ruthie had recently taken in Chubbs and Cutie, two kittens that a friend had rescued from a parking lot. And, I knew Ruthie also had four other barn cats that kept the mouse and rat population down on their farm. Happily, I was not surprised the next morning when Ruthie called to tell me she would take the kitten. She explained that Cutie had been hit by a passing car on the busy road near their home, and Chubbs had been lonely. She thought “Sonic” would be good company for Chubbs.

Ruthie and Sonic on the 4th of July.
Ruthie and Sonic on the 4th of July.

This past Fourth of July, Randell and Ruthie invited FD and I to celebrate the holiday with grilled burgers and such at their ranch. So, I took my camera along, hoping to get some photos of Chubbs and Sonic. Ruthie explained that the two had become fast, and best, friends. While Sonic seemed to have plenty of energy, Ruthie worried that he was not growing as he should, and I had to admit, he still looked very small. But it certainly was not as if he was lacking for food. In fact, Ruthie soon brought out a spread of food for Chubbs and Sonic, fit for a king!

Sonic enjoying Chubb's licks of love.
Sonic enjoying Chubb’s licks of love.

In a short time, it was apparent that Sonic had found a good home. He had a loving and dedicated mother (Ruthie), and he had an older, big brother who put up with his playful antics and gave him special licks in spite of it all. His tummy never growled in hunger, and he had plenty of places to hide to escape rain and the hot sun. And there was no doubt that, before winter arrives, Ruthie will have Randell rig up some kind of special cat house for Chubbs and Sonic to take refuge in.

Another boring sunset at the ranch. We should all have life so good!
Another boring sunset at the ranch. We should all have life so good!

Fortunately for him, and thanks to a great team effort, Sonic is living the good life today. Successful rescues are such a joy…

Β© Day by Day the Farm Girl Way…

IMG_9710


50 thoughts on “Saving Sonic

  1. Rescue stories that are a joy are wonderful…thank you for the “happy” post…I think it’s neat that the 2 cats look so much alike…lol
    ]

    Like

  2. What a fantastic story, Big Sister! Sonic and Chubbs are absolutely ADORABLE together, and it’s quite obvious they are best friends. I had to laugh when you were less than thrilled to take in a kitten, knowing quite well that cats have never been your favorite animal, LOL! But you plodded through it, with a good amount of help (and skillful driving) from Sissy Jo, and found the little fella a wonderful home. I’m so glad to know he’s living the good life with Ruthie and Randell, and Chubbs of course :-).

    Like

    1. Yes, Baby Sister, I believe Sonic has a better life than most cats! Ruthie is always telling me about Chubbs and Sonic providing their evening entertainment. Apparently, Chubbs teases Sonic with his tail, and Sonic attacks Chubs, and then the rolling and playing is on! Chubbs adores Sonic. I really had a hard time with photographs, as Sonic does not pose for the camera. Chubbs on the other hand, could be a cat model… I mean, look at those eyes, and with a name like Chubbs, I’m thinking he could really go places! LOL It sure was a fun post to write!

      Like

  3. I’m glad you were a good samaritan and saved that precious kitten. You can go to sleep with a clear conscience. And I am really pleased to have read that a friend gave him a marvelous home. Yes the day you found Sonic was indeed his lucky day.

    Like

  4. This was a heartwarming story. I am sure that fate brought you and “Sonic” together that day. Everyone benefited in the end, but your actions initiated the happy outcome. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks… and I too believe we are where we need to be at all times. Sissy and I were on the highway at precisely the right moment,and I’m thankful Ruthie gave him a great home.

      Like

  5. What an awesome story! I am glad Sonic is enjoying his new home! Glad there are people in the world who would rescue animals from the middle of the road instead of not stopping or even worse, running over the animal.

    Like

  6. I love that you did this, Lori! You have such a big heart. I once saw a *litter of kittens on the freeway in California, and they were far to young to have gotten there on their own… Who could be so evil as to do that? It made me cry. Sonic is a lovely cat!

    *Just so you know: There was nothing to be done by the time I got there. 😦

    Like

    1. We recently had a situation in Oklahoma City, where a truck driver saw someone throw a full-grown Husky dog off the side of an overpass, into traffic on the interstate down below. Somehow the observer managed to get to the dog. After much vetting and surgery, the dog will be fine. A local news crew has been covering the story and keeping viewers updated on progress. There will always be people who treat animals inhumanely and others who turn their heads rather than rescue. I am thankful there are also many people who care and lend a hand to assist and intervene when help is needed. Lynda, I know you… had there been anything to do in that situation, you would have been out there scrambling to collect those kittens! You’re as much a softie as I am with animals!

      Like

  7. What a wonderful story with an uplifting ending. I’m a cat and dog person so I appreciate your efforts in saving little Sonic. Gandhi said that the greatness of a nation is known by the way we treat our animals. Fortunately for America, there are people like you who live their compassionate beliefs. Thank you!

    Like

    1. Wow! I did not know that of Gandhi… how grand that would be if we were all compassionate and caring about animals and each other. Thank you for such a wonderful comment!

      Like

  8. Learn from experience that animals have feelings and they can have the Spirit of God in them. Read the Bible for examples. I dropped a few in my life in yards where I knew they would get good care or on a farm but will never again. One cat I had got lost 1/4 miles from home and was so uncatlike that it could not fend for itself and my daughter saw it on the road almost starved and brought it home. It was to stupid to catch field mice or to find its way home after it had wandered less than 1/4 mile away. Animals treated with disregard of their life is as bad but not as bad as people treat one another without regard for a person’s life. We should respect all living things.

    Like

    1. I believe too that we should treat all living things with respect and caring. There are many sad stories out there… and probably each of us has a bad memory of something we did that was a poor choice (I know I have!) and we learned from that experience. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  9. Oh yeah! About Sonics. Totally agree with you and went thru the same senario of once a regular customer, not just to drop by and get the tall cool drink of summer soda and juice.

    Like

    1. When FD and I have been working outside doing physical work, sweating, I don’t have too much difficulty with having a sodium-laden meal. I noticed even the drinks are not 100% juice. There is so much to watch with labels.

      Like

    1. Oh, he loves his new family, Sandy. I think he loves all of the attention Chubbs gives him. I thought it was funny how Chubbs just took him under his wing!

      Like

  10. Awww good job :). We have three rescue cats here. One of them back home after ten years of living with my grandparents and then my mother. All old cats that were rescues from one situation or another. So for my brandy(The older cat) Is living in my insulated tack room in the barn. Every morning I open the door up and every morning he refuses to come out but I know this cat. He takes FOREVER to adjust to things but when he finally does hes great. Just have to be patient with him and understanding.

    Like

    1. Aren’t cats funny? I never was good at figuring them out, nor did I have any patience with them. I have 3 rescue dogs that I adore. I will always adopt rescues… so many need good homes and people to love them! Thanks for such a great comment… I love happy stories!

      Like

  11. I love that you saved the kitten! I almost hit a chipmunk this weekend but luckily I managed to miss him. I chuckled at your comment that people always try to convince you that their cats like you. Haha! What a happy story πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks Tina! Glad you dodged the little chipmunk! I’m always animal conscious while driving… probably too much so! With the deer population prevalent here, especially during the rut season November through January, I tend to keep an eye out for bolting does being chased by bucks. Skunks and Armadillos are also at risk in spring and fall too.

      Like

  12. That’s funny – I’m a cat person!!!!!. Perhaps weird and weird go together, lol. Their independence is a trait I admire as they remind me of myself, lol.. Most cats, as a general, can survive on their own without human intervention!! That does not apply to kittens or geriatric cats nor a sick or injured one, of course. My geriatric cat just showed up, seemingly arriving as an inside cat. I’ve often wondered if her person died or she freaked during an auto accident and got lost rather than being dumped. For two years she was grateful almost like a dog – it wouldn’t leave my side. After 3 years now , she is finally acting more cat-like!

    Like

  13. It’s amazing how alike those 2 cats are! Well done you on rescuing the poor little thing and hugs from Tassie for your bravery πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. This is a delightful story, Lori and very appealing photographs of the two cats.
    You have learnt to read deer, dogs and armadillos. Perhaps one day, you will learn to read cats.
    As I am writing this, my two felines are snoring in the background.

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you Margaret. I know many of my reader’s are cat people. Perhaps someday the right specimen will come along and a cat will need my love. That is how everything else has come to me. The Universe seems to know just the experience I need at the right time!

      What are your cats names? I do admire cats personalities… so aloof and unpredictable!

      Like

  15. Lori, the names of my cats are Arlo, a big, chunky neutered black and white male with an amiable disposition and Belle, a silver tabby torti speyed female with a long tail. Belle likes to hug me when I am at the computer.

    Like

Comments are closed.