Shout! – As Performed by Daisy Dew and The Raindrops

Just getting started, Daisy hoofs at the water making big splashes!

Heavy rain fell this Monday, providing about three inches of moisture over a 24-hour period.  I watched from the back porch as the steady downpour filled the low areas around the property.  Before long, it looked as if we had a shallow moat around the house.   From the south side of the house, water drained gently off towards the path through the woods and on to the canyon floor below, while on the north side, a system of drains funneled the water down a pipe to a rock spillway and stream bed below the slope.  A loud, GLUG, GLUG, GLUG, gurgling noise could be heard from the back porch as the water pooled around the drains, where it was sucked rapidly down the pipe.  A subsequent gushing of water appeared at the bottom of the slope, splashing forcibly against the rocks as it catapulted down the man-made rock stream below.  The rhythmic sound of draining and gushing water was fascinating.  It isn’t often that rain falls in amounts that allow us to observe this gush of water down the pipe system into the stream below.

Pouncing at the big bubbles! Rain is beginning to fall a little harder.

I had seen Daisy standing in the rain down at the corn feeder early in the day, but was not about to venture out into the downpour to hand out her usual pear and apple snack.  I would have been drenched in no time!  It was not long before the rain began pounding down and she disappeared into the woods anyway.   I had observed Daisy in the rain many times before.  She seemed unaffected by it when it fell gently, and often laid down to wait for heavy downpours to pass.  So I was sure she would soon settle down somewhere to wait out what appeared to be an unrelenting downpour.

Daisy, gamboling like a bucking bronco!
You know you make me wanna (Shout!)
Kick my heels up and (Shout!)
Throw my hooves up and (Shout!)
Throw my head back and (Shout!)
(Say) say that you love me
(Say) say that you need me
(Say) say that you want me
(Say) you wanna please me

After refilling my coffee cup with a piping hot brew of fresh Sumatra, I stepped back outside on the porch.  The rain had slowed a bit, and a chorus of birds were chirping loudly.  The woodland seemed to be teeming with life.  A few birds were spreading wings, bathing in the gentle rain.  Then suddenly, the skies opened up again and large drops of rain pounded down.  That is when the slight motion of bright orange caught my eyes!  Daisy was on the south side of the property at the edge of the woods, standing in a large pool of water that eventually trickled down to the canyon floor over gentle-flowing pathways.   I could tell by her posture, she was excited and frisky.  Having seen Daisy’s “Swamp Donkey” dance before, I had the feeling I was about to see a fantastic sequel!

Now waii-a-ait a minute! I feel aaaaalllllright!
You know you make me wanna…. SHOUT! lift my heels up and SHOUT! throw my head back and SHOUT!
A little bit softer now, a little bit softer now, a little bit softer…
A little bit louder now, a little bit louder now, a little bit louder…
Hey-Hey-A-Hey
(Hey-Hey-A-Hey)
Hey-A-Hey-A

As it turned out, my feelings were spot on! For twenty minutes I watched Daisy dance in the rain.   I observed her antics from a step-ladder on the back porch, while snapping photographs from my perch with the aid of my zoom lens.  Daisy danced with wild abandon.  Sometimes the rain fell gently, then suddenly it would hammer down.  Like a great percussion instrumental, lightning exploded in the sky while the pounding base of thunder rocked the ground; yet fearlessly she danced!  Peering into the magic liquid, splashing with her hooves, jumping, twisting and running, Daisy played and frolicked until she stood breathless and panting.  After a while, she seemed to stop and catch her breath for a short time, then gingerly trotted off into the woods.

Everybody shout now
Everybody, shout, shout!
Jump up and shout now! Kick up your heels now… SHOUT!

As I watched Daisy leaving the dance scene, I remembered my own fascination with water puddles as a child.  My brother and sisters and I would play in puddles in the yard, in water channels in the fields, and in country roadside ditches for hours after a good rain.  Mom never let us outside during a storm, but we surely enjoyed many hours playing in the gentle rain that followed.  I am sure Mom did not appreciate our wet, muddy clothes and I remember a few lectures about cleaning up our filthy shoes or boots, or hearing a raised voice addressing mud that got tracked in the house.  But somehow, Mom never lost her mind about the mess, and seemed to understand that rain and puddles were an important part of a child’s life and play.

I feel aaaaaaaalllllright!
(Yeah-Yeah, Yeah-Yeah, Yeah-Yeah)

Later in the day, I found Daisy kicking around in a large puddle in front of the house, pawing and frolicking again.  This time, I donned my Muck boots and went outside for a stomp myself, joining her in splashing and cavorting about in the puddle.  For me, there is still something soothing in sloshing about in the water and hearing that wonderful squishing sound when walking over soggy soil.  From the front yard, I made my way on to larger puddles of water near the woodland edge with Daisy following.  We later sauntered on down to the canyon bottom, her nibbling on new leaf shoots and me snapping photographs of wild flowers and wet lichen on tree trunks.  The woodland floor sparkled with millions of raindrops.  For a moment, I stood in awe and wonderment.  This was Daisy’s world.  This was her home.  What a spectacular place to live and play and shout-dance in the rain!

Later in the day… Daisy gently wading through the puddles.

© Day by Day the Farm Girl Way…


34 thoughts on “Shout! – As Performed by Daisy Dew and The Raindrops

  1. Now you have me wondering if deer in the wild do this. What as show she put on! Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

    Like

    1. I googled that Sandy! They DO play in puddles. There are some great videos on YouTube documenting wild deer and elk playing in water. It’s wonderful to observe wildlife living in the moment… playing!

      Like

      1. I will have to go look. When we had new calves at my parent’s place in northeast Ok, I remember how foolish they could be at times. Up here in Maine, I rarely get to see cows, and kind of miss them.

        Like

        1. I think all animals and birds can be found performing all sorts of silly antics. We had sheep, cows, pigs and chickens growing up on a small farm in Nebraska. Every single animal had personality. My favorite was Baa the sheep. Baa loved chewing gum. We’d give her a stick after school and she’d chomp that gum hard and fast! We would laugh until we about fell over! Eventually, she’d drop it and we would give her another stick of gum for another round of belly-laughing.

          Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Each time I write about an experience with Daisy I think I can’t top it, but she always surprises me with her little ways. What a gift she is!

      Like

    1. You have that right! She puts on quite the performance! I never did capture a photograph of her looking UP at the rain, but she looks as if she wonders where it is coming from! Silly girl… ya gotta love her!

      Like

  2. What a great post and fantastic pictures! Thanks for sharing these experiences – it’s great to have a glimpse into Daisy’s beautiful world and her lovely character through these posts 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Daisy is such a precious girl. I feel quite honored to be her mother. I believe she came to me when I needed her most. My, how she has lead me to live in the moment and to understand the deer people.

      Like

    1. Thanks Mike! Daisy cracks me up most days. I have had that song in my head all day… making me crazy! I can remember dancing to “Shout” a good bit in my high school days, but I admit, I never tried it in the pouring rain!

      Like

    1. Thank you Lanchi! Daisy seems to love the camera and is not shy so I have plenty of opportunity to photograph her! However, during her dance, she didn’t know I was watching her from afar.

      Like

    1. Her playfulness did exude complete and utter joy! She’s been extremely frisky this last 4 days, with all of the rain we’ve gotten. She’s a little rain dancer! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. What wonderful lessons to learn from your dear Daisy! And your captioning with the words from that song is way too perfect! I felt all wet and muddy and joyfully squishy and dancey-prancey, just readingt your post here today!

    Like

  4. These are adorable pics and I’m loving your captions as always 🙂 I just cannot imagine how amazing it must be to look out your porch to see such a beautiful creature having so much fun, the joy it must put in your heart! I know how much joy it brings me just seeing the pics of it so I cannot even imagine how wonderful it is to experience it in person!
    We also got a major downpour on Monday! I had to run out and bring one of our seedling trays in that didn’t have holes in the bottom and I got *soaked*. It filled our new rain barrel up that my husband had just built too, it was awesome to see 🙂 The thunder that accompanied the storm was nice, such a lovely sound!(although our cats would definitely disagree) I’m hoping that it’s a sign that we will not have another drought like we did last year.

    Like

    1. Thank you Karen! It is pretty amazing to watch Daisy. She’s very playful these days. I know she’s enjoying her freedom (it’s been 2 months that she’s been free) and she is still a fawn so she’s very spunky and playful. Even as a yearling, I imagine she will still be delighting us with her antics.

      I love the spring storms. I am thankful for a nice back porch where I can sit, listen to the rain pour down, watch the lightning, hear the thunder and watch the animals and birds carry on. The birds seem to love the rain best!

      Like

  5. It’s so amazing how playful Daisy is. She is SO like a small child, just experiencing all the joy and playfulness.

    How you get these moments is so crazy. I don’t know how you do it. I love reading your posts and seeing the accompanying pics. So great, Lori!

    I know you’re very humble about what you do here, but I want you to know that it’s very special.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much MJ!! That made my day… I needed a boost! Actually, we have many windows around the house and I always find myself checking to see if Daisy is around. She generally shows up at certain times, and then of course on rainy days she tends to hang near the corn feeder, which I can see from the backside of our house. And, I do tend to spend time walking with her and most times she cuts up and takes off running, after a slow walk and hike through the woods. She’s young and has a lot of energy!

      Like

  6. You do have the best show in town! How fun that must have been. I love that you are able to share her day and your excitement with her, and then in turn share it with US! ~ Lynda

    Like

    1. Yes, I sometimes take for granted that this is normal country living, but it really is a grand show to have access to so much wildlife. Of course I’d miss out on all of it if I didn’t have a watchful eye throughout the day. It’s the activity that gets me side-tracked, which I now have a reputation for being a grasshopper!! I think you understand about that… it is so much of what I love about reading your blog posts too!

      Like

  7. Love this Lori! “Daisy was dancing with wild abandon”….Oh to dance with wild abandon! Oh to do ANYTHING (well not anything!!) with wild abandon! I love too that you captured all this with your big cup of piping hot Sumatra! Thanks for a great read.

    Like

    1. Thanks Marilyn!! I sometimes feel like the most fortunate person to enjoy so much of the senses, especially in the early morning. What with coffee, beautiful weather, birds, and a dancing deer in the rain, well, what more could I wish for?

      Like

  8. Love this! She’s so playful! When it was raining the other day, I went outside with my friend and we did the same thing—hopped and jumped in puddles for a couple of hours, enjoying the rain. That’s what rain and rain boots are for, right? Thanks so much for sharing this story and for the pics!

    Like

    1. Thanks Jacqueline! I went out with Daisy that day and stomped around with my Muck boots on. There’s just something magical about rain and puddles. It’s not just about kids feeling free; we should all give in to those delights that feel wonderful. Who came up with all of these crazy ideas about acting a certain way, and being “grown up”? I always intend on being free-spirited and delighting in the rain!

      Like

    1. I must admit that FD came up with the title. He is my editor and I don’t know what I’d do without his expertise pointers! And yes, nature rocks like you wouldn’t believe!!

      Like

Comments are closed.